Sunday, May 26, 2024

SADC Troika Summit in Zambia ‘Disapproves’ Rwanda’s Complaint Over DRC Troop Deployment

Kagame: President of Rwanda
Rwanda recently asked the African Union not to support troops from Southern African Development Community (SADC) deployed to fight armed groups in the restless eastern Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), claiming the force will exacerbate the conflict.
However, meeting in Lusaka Zambia, heads of states for SADC dismissed the complaints of Rwanda. In a final communique released on Saturday, the “ Summit disapproved of the contents of the correspondence from the Republic of Rwanda to the United Nations and African Union Commission concerning support to SAMIDRC.”
The communique added:
“Summit reiterated that the deployment of SAMIDRC is to restore the peace and security of the DRC and that it is aligned to the SADC Treaty, the SADC Protocol on Politics, Defence and Security Co-operation and the SADC Mutual Defence Pact.”
The Summit reiterated the regional commitment expressed in its SADC Mutual Defence Pact that, “an armed attack against one shall be deemed a threat to regional peace and security.”
The communique therefore commended Member States for demonstrating the spirit of collective regional solidarity through their continued contribution and support to SAMIM and SAMIDRC.
The summit was attended by the President of Angola, João Manuel Gonçalves Lourenço, Democratic Republic of Congo President, President Félix Antoine Tshisekedi Tshilombo, Malawi President, Dr. Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera, Mozambiquan  President, President Filipe Jacinto Nyusi, Zambia President Hakainde Hichilema, Zimbabwe President Dr. Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa, The Right Honourable the Prime Ministerof the  Kingdom of Lesotho, Samuel Ntsokoane Matekane, the Vice President of Namibia, Dr. Netumbo NandiNdaitwah, the Vice President of Tanzania, Dr. Philip Isdor Mpango, Honourable Thomas K. Mmusi, Minister of Defence and Security for Botswana and Honourable Khumbudzo Ntshavheni, Minister in the Presidency of South Africa.
Editor In-Chief
the authorEditor In-Chief