Saturday, April 13, 2024

Flames wins World Cup qualifier game in Liberia, breaking age-long Jinx


The Malawi national football outfit, the Flames, has secured a crucial victory yesterday, Friday, 17th November 2023, in an away game defeating the host, Liberia, with one goal in the FIFA World Cup qualifying match.

The match took place at Samuel Kanyon Doe Sports Stadium in Liberia’s capital, Monrovia. First half of the match ended with no goal from either teams, a scenario that persisted into the second half until a substitute player, Chifundo Mphasi, for the Flames scored the only goal of the match at 78th minute, ensuring Malawi’s victory.

The Flames are in Group H which includes Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea, Liberia, Namibia, and Sao Tome & Principe.

Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea and Malawi all currently hold three points. However, Tunisia is leading the group due to a higher goal count followed by Equatorial Guinea, with Malawi on third position.

Tunisia played Sao Tome & Principe on Friday, recording a 4-0 victory while Equatorial Guinea vandalized Namibia with a single goal on Wednesday.

The Flames are set to host Tunisia on Tuesday, November 21, 2023, at the Bingu National Stadium in Lilongwe for the second game of Group H.

Patrick Mabedi, the Flames’ coach has dropped a prominent forward player, Frank Gabadinho Mhango, from the squad due to ‘discipline reasons’.

Speaking after the victory record, Mabedi expressed his delight at the win and commended the players for their ‘excellent performance’.

“First and foremost, I would like to thank God Almighty for the victory. I would also like to thank the boys for their great performance today. They really executed the game plan very well”, he said adding that “it has always been difficult for Malawi to win, especially in West Africa, so today we have ended that jinx and I am very happy”.

The 2026 FIFA World Cup finals will be hosted by Mexico, the United States of America, and Canada

The Following was the Flames’ full squad before Gabadinho got dropped:

Goalkeepers: Innocent Nyasulu  (Wakawaka Tigers FC), Austin Chirambo (FCB Nyasa Bullets Reserve), Brighton Munthali (Black Leopards FC).

Defenders: Mark Lameck (Blue Eagles FC), Dannie Chimbalanga (MAFCO), Stanley Sanudi, Lawrence Chaziya (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), Nickson Mwase Tatenda M’balaka (Silver Strikers), Chembezi Denis (Al-Qasim SC – Mozambique), Blessings Mpokera (FCB Nyasa Bullets)

Midfielders: Robert Gomez Saizi (Bangwe All Stars) Chrispin Mapemba (FCB Nyasa Bullets Reserve), Wisdom Mpinganjira, Francisco Madinga (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), Chimwemwe Idana (Silver Strikers), Lloyd Aaron (Civil Service United), Frank Willard, Patrick Mwaungulu, Lanjesi Nkhoma (FCB Nyasa Bullets), John Banda ( UD Songo), Chifundo Mphasi (Kabwe Warriors – Zambia).

Strikers: Olson Kanjira (Kamuzu Barracks), Christopher Kumwembe  (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), Gabadinho Mhango (Moroka Swallows – South Africa).


Editor In-Chief
the authorEditor In-Chief