Thursday, July 18, 2024

Purging in DPP: Nankhumwa et al fired; Senior Members Suspended – A Prelude to MCP’s 2025 Victory

Nankhumwa: To challenge his firing in Court

The seismic move made by the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) today, firing Nankhumwa and a plethora of others while suspending numerous high-ranking party officials, signifies one undeniable truth – Peter Mutharika has essentially driven the final nail into the party’s fate, consigning it to opposition status until 2030. This echoes a familiar pattern, reminiscent of the party’s earlier sidelining of Chilima, whose repercussions led to the party’s expulsion from government.

In a statement signed by Shadreck Namalomba, the DPP informed members of the general public that at the meeting of the Central Committee of the party held on 20th January, 2024, and under the powers vested in the Central Committee by Article 9(5) (b) as read with Article 15(4) of the Constitution of the Democratic Progressive Party of 2018, the Central Committee received and considered the recommendations from the Disciplinary Committee.

In part reads the statement:

“The Central Committee considered the recommendations and unanimously resolved as follows: 1. That the following should be expelled from the party with immediate effect, namely: Honourable Kondwani Nankhumwa, MP, Presidential Advisor; Honourable Grelzeder Jeffrey, Vice President (Centre); Honourable Cecelia Chazama, Presidential Advisor; Honourable Nicholas Harry Dausi, MP, National Publicity Secretary; Honourable Mark Botomani, MP, National Director of Research and Training; Honourable Otria Jere, National Director of Protocol; Honourable Fortunate Simeon Phiri, Deputy Treasurer General (Centre); Honourable Fredrick Billy Malata, Deputy National Director of Political Affairs (East); Honourable Joe Thomas Nyirongo, Deputy National Director of Operations (North); and Honourable Kenneth Chatatata Msonda, NGC Member (North).”

The statement proceeds:

“That the following should be removed from their NGC positions and be suspended from membership of the Party for a period of nine (9) months with immediate effect, namely: Honourable Henry Matemba, National Director of Elections; Honourable Joseph Mabvuto Kachali, Deputy National Director of Elections

(North); Honourable Kondwani Ng’ong’ola, Deputy National Organising Secretary (Centre); Honourable Shafee Khamisa, Deputy National Director of Logistics (South); Honourable Brave Mkwezalamba, Deputy National Director of Operations (South);

Honourable Marriam Chimbalanga, Deputy National Director of Women (Centre); Honourable Dumisani Lindani, NGC Member (East); Honourable Baxter Kita, NGC Member ( North); and Honourable Lameck Rajab Malimba, NGC Member (Centre).”

The statement further proceeded:

That Honourable Uladi Mussa, DPP Member (Centre) be suspended from membership of the Party for a period of nine (9) months with immediate effect. That Honourable Ralph Pacharo Jooma, MP, National Director of Economic Affairs be removed from his position of National Director of Economic Affairs in the NGC.

According to the statement “The Party calls upon its members to respect and abide by the above resolutions, to desist from any misconduct in the Party and never to undermine and disrespect the leadership at any levels within the structures of the party. The Party will not hesitate to take any disciplinary action against any misconduct.”

Editor In-Chief
the authorEditor In-Chief