Saturday, April 13, 2024

UK suspends flights from six African countries as South Africa detects new Covid-19 variant

Members of the Tshwane Special Infectious Unit on COVID-19 pick up a suspected COVID-19 patient in Pretoria, South Africa, during the country’s second wave of coronavirus infections on Jan. 15.

Britain has announced its intensions to ban travels from six southern African countries, after South Africa detected a new Covid-19 variant.

All flights are set to be suspended from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe and Botswana from 1200 GMT Friday 26 November 2021.

Flights from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe and Botswana will from 1200 GMT Friday 26 November be suspended

“Initially it looked like, you know, it was just some cluster outbreaks, maybe gatherings and so on. But from yesterday, indication came from our scientist colleagues from the network for genomic surveillance so that indeed they were observing what looked like a new variant,” South African Health Minister, Joseph Phaahla stated.

The South African health minister added “While the team of scientists will be studying and giving us further information over the weekend we will be more empowered. But of course, we are seeing that from the experience of the last 21 months or so, we almost can predict how this is going to move.”

Scientists say the new variant is a concern because of its high number of changes and rapid spread among young people in Gauteng, the country’s most populous province.

The new variant has also been found in Hong Kong.

Editor In-Chief
the authorEditor In-Chief